SAFF Women’s Championship 2019: Nepal 3 – 0 Bhutan

Nepal has beaten Bhutan by three goals in an inaugural match of the fifth edition of SAFF Women’s championship in Shahid Rangashala Stadium, Biratnagar today.

Taking an early lead, the goalscorers for Nepal are Manjali Kumar Yonjan (12’), Sabitra Bhandari (15’) and Captain Niru Thapa (53’) respectively.

The tournament is the fifth edition of SAFF Women’s Championship. Although initially planned to be hosted by Sri Lanka in December, 2018, Nepal had to step in after Sri Lanka withdrew as hosts. Being hosted in Biratnagar, this is the first time an international tournament is being held outside Kathmandu.

Nepal’s next match is scheduled for Saturday, 16th of March, 2019 against Bangladesh, the runners-up of SAFF Women’s Championship 2016. Defending champions India will be playing against Maldives tomorrow.


Share this post:

Leave a Reply